1. While the majority of active discourse on D20PRO has moved to our Discord Channels, this forum is still active and checked-in on regularly by our staff. However, for the very latest information, conversation and/or immediate support, please join us on Discord here: http://discord.gg/Ph38ckM
    Dismiss Notice

d20Pro not being brutal enough

Discussion in 'D&D 4th Edition' started by Tarjei, Jul 28, 2010.

1. Tarjei

Tarjei New Member

Hello,

I am new to d20Pro and have been experiencing some character building issues, I've managed most of them, except this one.

Is there a way to get Brutal applied in d20Pro?

I can't find any obvious solutions, nor any posts about it on the forums. I guess it's not the biggest issue, but having Brutal +2 on my axe really does the trick.

2. Thurgian

Thurgian New Member

While it was for a different reason, I posted a query similar to yours.

It is possible, in the future, they will show the result of each die. Allowing you to see when a person would need to reroll damage dice.

In the mean time I have done the following for Gauntlets of Destruction (reroll 1's)

Given:

The bigger the hit die, the less often a 1 is rolled, small hit die weapons benefit more.

Therefore I calculate the extra damage as iff the player was using a d6 weapon.

On any roll of a 6 sided dice there is a 1/6 (16.66%) chance that a 1 will be rolled.
    On the reroll, there is an equal chance that any of the numbers will be rolled for an average value of 4
    Such that the average value of the Gauntlets are 2/3 of a point for each die of damage.

So, I multiply the number of damage die by 2/3 (rounding to the nearest whole number) and add the result into the appropriate attack.

The result is 1 extra damage for 1d and 2d attacks, and 2 extra damage for 3d attacks (etc).

Not elegant, perhaps, but efficient.

Because of the technically infinite amount of damage that a Vorpal weapon could cause, this method isn't viable for weapons with that attribute.